Van den Hoven wins IFIP award for “outstanding contribution” to social implications of ICT


The International Federation for Information Processing, usually known as IFIP, is an umbrella organization for national societies working in the field of information technology. It is a non-governmental, non-profit organization. Its members include over 48 national societies and academies of science. WG9.2 is one of the IFIP working groups, which deals with ‘Computers and Social Accountability’. This working group is part of an IFIP technical committee on the ‘Relationship between Technology and Society’.

The Namur Award

The Namur Award is a biennial award to be accorded for an outstanding contribution with international impact to the awareness of social implications of information technology. The purpose is to draw attention to the need for an holistic approach in the use of information technology in which the social implications have been taken into account. The general criterion is that of an outstanding contribution with international impact in the field of social implications of information technology. The contribution can be in the form of a publication, design, lecture, or any other project. The Namur Award may also be granted for a special action, accomplishment or achievement of any other kind within the scope of the Namur Award. The Namur Award consists of a commemorative plate and a certificate.

Former Namur Award Winners

  • 1991: Prof. Joseph Weizenbaum, MIT, Cambridge, Massachussets (USA)
  • 1993: Dr. Riccardo Petrella, Head of the FAST Programme, European Commission
  • 1996: Dr. Carlos-Alberto Afonso, IBASE, Community of people AlterNex, Brazil
  • 1998: Prof. Gunilla Bradley, Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, Sweden
  • 2000: Prof. Simon Rogerson, CCSR, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK
  • 2002: Dr Deborah Hurley, Harvard Information Infrastructure Project, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. USA.
  • 2004: Prof. Ian H. Witten, New Zealand Digital Library Project, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • 2006: Nigel Williams, Founder of Childnet International and Northern Ireland Commissioner for children and young people, UK
  • 2008: Prof. Daniel Pimienta, Founder of FUNREDES, ICT4D, Santo Domingo
Scroll to top